Purchasing with Purpose: Some Ideas

I watched my Facebook feed exploding yesterday with “deals” abounding. I talked with my family about the cost of those deals. Here are some ideas for purchasing with purpose, and in most cases here, at a discount! Because I know what it’s like to love a deal.

I love Hunter boots, but have never loved the price. Here’s what I got for myself today at 50% off (using the code “thanks”)! And they are made in China in a fair trade facility! (these exist??? 🙂 ) Plus, they give a pair to child in need. You can’t get better than that!

Next up is Sseko Designs. I have their sandals and could not love them more. So versatile and super high-quality. Check out these bags! They are also offering a 20% discount with the code “ssekogives” Handmade and fairly traded from Uganda with genuine leather. The first one here is my fav:

Remember my proclamation of devotion for INDIGENOUS? Well, they are offering 30% off through Tuesday. Use code “FAIRDAY” at checkout. This is the new object of my affection from their line of fairly traded, 100% Super Soft Free Range Alpaca pieces.

Next up is Light Gives Heat. I watched their movie earlier this year, Moving On. This little family has sacrificed so much to sow into the lives of their artisans living in Uganda, the birthplace of their adopted daughter. They have a very small staff in the home office in Colorado to ensure that overhead is kept low and proceeds are going to the people who make their goods. Their “Enchanted” line is 30% off right now and you get a free necklace! That’s a great deal. I love these bracelets because I am a Virginia Tech Hokie and these are our colors. So for only $10.50, I can have awesome fairly traded bangles AND show school spirit. Check them out here:

 

I am totally in love with Global Girlfriend. Not only do they have cute, on-trend, fair trade clothes at reasonable prices, but they provide food to families in need, and have an amazing story of how they came about. It’s just another of my girl crushes on founders of these awesome fair trade companies. Check out this CUTE dress I got on discount (yes, again… a purchase for myself. all this “research for the blog” is going to cause some problems with the budget) Use code GGFTEN to get $10 off a $50 purchase (makes this dress only $44 and perfect for all of your holiday get-togethers).

Lastly, here is a shameless plug for Noonday Collection. This company is so near and dear to my heart because I have represented them for the past year and am now interwoven now into it’s fabric. There are so many beautiful stories of redemption in the lives of our artisans, the Founder and the adoption of her son from Rwanda that started it all, and even in my own life. This was afterall, my introduction into all things fair trade. I would never have imagined that Jesus would use jewelry to inspire such a passion in my life. Cruise around online to find great ideas for everyone on your list! No sales tax (unless you live in Texas) and a flat $6 shipping fee.As they say ‘Tis the season! For family, friends, traditions and shopping. What will you do to take a step in the fair trade direction this holiday season? Please feel free to leave a comment to share something that I may have missed!

Leave a Reply

