Ring in 2013 with a donation to World Food Programme

Reflecting back on 2012 today, and I can’t believe the year is almost over. So many beautiful things like: becoming an Ambassador with Noonday Collection, meeting fabulous people (you know who you are), realizing that I wanted to make fair trade a standard for our lifestyle, starting this blog, and becoming affiliated with Moms for Social Good. And while none were personal tragedies, there were a fair number of painful things too.

With the past two food-centered months, I’ve also been reflecting on how much of our lives revolve around food. Maybe it’s just my southern roots, or the fact that I married into a half Italian family, but holidays, parties, and pretty much life itself, all revolve around (good!) food. Yesterday, I finally put batteries in our bathroom scale just so I could get a good picture of what the past two months have done to me. It’s not pretty. While I’m not happy to report that I have gorged, and seen evidence of that in the scales and how tight the waistband is on my jeans, I am so thankful to have access to food (but wish I had more access to self control 🙂 ). 

Yes, there is a point to all of this reflecting (and subsequent rambling). It’s difficult to imagine with the privileged American life we lead, and our mostly “first world problems,” that hunger and malnutrition are the number one risk to health worldwide. Here, we have a battle of the bulge and an obesity epidemic. Around the world, 870 million people do not have enough to eat. What makes this all the more difficult is the knowledge that there is enough food in the world today for everyone to have the nourishment necessary for a healthy and productive life.Image

 

But, it doesn’t have to be. I recently saw what World Food Programme, the world’s largest humanitarian agency fighting hunger that is funded entirely by voluntary donations, is doing to help truly hungry and starving people around the world.

They are fighting hunger every day, whether saving lives in an emergency or providing schoolchildren with vital nourishment. Are you sitting down? Did you know that it takes just one dollar to fill four cups with nutritious meals?? I haven’t eaten, or fed anyone for that matter, for $0.25, in a very long time – much less actual nutritious food. 

Consider ringing in 2013 with a donation of $1 or more to World Food Programme and start the year right! I agree with them that “Working together, we can build a world without hunger.”

 

Leave a Reply

