Let’s Love Mercy

There is just something about Spring, don’t you think? Even with alarming things happening in our country and world, new life still springs forth. And with it? Hope. We went to an area garden a couple weeks ago. The camellia, tulips, and trees were all in bloom. It was glorious.

Spring

But I want to use this space today and the HOPE that I’ve been feeling with all of this new life bursting forth to tell a bit of a story. It’s a story about  new life and two women who met in an unusual way. One from a town in Texas. One from the slums of Kariobangi in Kenya. One rescued from wealth. The other rescued from poverty. Their lives now – forever entwined. One who knew of a great need. The other who was willing to help do something about filling that need. And the new life in this story? Babies! (yes again)

I’m thankful that my pregnancies have all been greeted with squeals of joy and excitement and conceived in love. But that’s not the case for many in this world. Not even my own mother. While I’m sure my own mom was not elated to find out she was pregnant while still in high school, she had plenty of options to have her baby (me) in safety and with the support of family. She got married, and while things weren’t “ideal,” they worked. And we’re all happy, healthy, and still together.

I can’t make any comparisons about other women who find out they’re pregnant in less than “ideal” circumstances, but I have read the story about what prompted the small town Texan, Kristen, to partner with a formerly impoverished woman, Maureen, to provide a safe haven for pregnant girls living in the streets of Kenya. These girls are often raped or asked by their own mothers to sell their bodies for sex in a desperate measure to feed their families. Some of these girls are as young as 12. Many die from botched, illegal abortion attempts. As someone who values life, I am so glad that these women responded to the need.

87f91aadc3455c61fed3a6ff14b680df

Although the vision for it was born after the Founder’s trip to Africa in 2010, I only personally found out about Mercy House Kenya a little over a year ago. It was kinda superficial at first, actually. I liked a shirt I’d seen. I searched high and low until I found it:

I got the shirt. (It’s since been discontinued) And really fell in love with the ministry behind it.
Here’s a little more about it: The Mercy House exists to provide alternative options for pregnant girls living in the streets of Kenya. The Mercy House will aid them in education, nutrition, housing, prenatal care, Bible study, counseling and job skills for sustainable living. It’s a 2-4 year program that helps meet the felt needs of these girls first. The goal is to create a nurturing, safe environment for girls who have become pregnant and don’t have an answer for their “next step.” Although the day-to-day operations is ran by a locally native woman, it is funded through the efforts and advocacy of a little Texan family. (Why do I feel like all the cool people live in Texas?) Their reason for doing this? “We are just a simple family who said yes when God asked.” Terrell and Kristen Welch have been married for 17 years and are raising three children. Kristen writes the parenting blog, We are THAT family.
The great thing about all of this is that you can say “YES!” too!! I hope you’ll follow along on their journey, consider donating to support their work through Mercy House Kenya, or shop their store! Many of the pieces are created by the girls who have come to know Mercy House as their haven. They are paid a fair and living wage for their work.
I personally think a donation made in honor of your Mom or someone else you care about would be an awesome Mother’s Day gift. Or you could buy a little something for yourself. Like I always do. ;) I bought the Mother/Daughter necklace set for me and my girl for Mother’s Day/my daughter’s upcoming 4th birthday.
Or SURPRISE! You can enter to win here by leaving a comment (the link is at the top of this post) of what you’d like between this cute T-shirt or FREESET tote. I’ll do a random.org drawing in 48 hours so we can ensure delivery is made in time to gift it for Mother’s day if you’d like. I hope you enjoy finding another way that you can “BE THE CHANGE”! It really is as simple as this friends.
MERCYPOST
Shirt and bag courtesy of The Mercy House Kenya. shoes: TOMS crocheted classic slip ons. Earrings and bracelets: Noonday Collection
In style and love.
xo,
Brandi

16 thoughts on “Let’s Love Mercy

  1. First of all. You look HOT in that shirt! Secondly, as much as I love it, I think I REALLY love the tote (you know me and my bags). 🙂

  2. How beautiful! I’m loving your blog! It’s amazing because I had stumbled upon We are THAT Family recently and thought their blog (and family) was so great, but had no idea that they were connected with this ministry as well! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

