Day of the African Child. Throwing an arm party. A review. And a giveaway…

Hey y’all! Sorry I’ve been MIA. If you missed me, join me on Instagram. I post there much more frequently. The month of May was a whirlwind… but I’ll make up for lost time in this one single post with a little education, advice, review AND a giveaway! (I should probably break this single post into a few, but “go big or go home” is my mantra.)

Hopefully I’m back to stay because I LOVE my fair trade community! And this is why: more often than not, it’s not about you. My fair trade peeps – you are some of the most generous humans: “Empowerment,” “Education,” and “Poverty Alleviation” are some of your banners. Thank you for inspiring a Mama like me! And let me tell you. I’ve had to dig deep since last posting here to find hope in the world. The factory collapse in Bangladesh. The idiot CEO of one of the popular fast fashion brands in America. Y’all, just a trip to the mall now puts me near tears. Sometimes fashion is not fun for me any more. And you know me: I have to “ruin everything for everyone else.” 😉 So…

Let me tell you about something I just learned. My friend Antoine, owner of VavaVida, an online retailer of fair trade goods, personal care and yoga products, told me about The Day of the African Child. As Americans, we’re used to “Days” being created for the sake of marketing propaganda and to boost sales at Hallmark. So I was a bit skeptical of what exactly it could be. As often happens with social justice issues, I found out more than I “wanted” to know.

In SowetoSouth Africa, on June 16, 1976, about ten thousand black school children marched in a column more than half a mile long, protesting the poor quality of their education and demanding their right to be taught in their own language. Hundreds of young students were shot. (You remember THESE WERE KIDS, right??) More than a hundred people were killed in the protests of the following two weeks, and more than a thousand were injured. To honor the memory of those killed and the courage of all those who marched, the Day of the African Child has been celebrated on 16 June every year since 1991, when it was first initiated by the Organization of African Unity (now the African Union). (This makes griping about public school assignments seem a bit trite, yes?)

What can you do about this? During June, Antoine, is joining with PCI Global, an established, reputable organization whose mission is to prevent disease, improve community health, and promote sustainable development worldwide, to help raise money for education in Africa. And they’re doing it by donating a quarter of all sales of this colorful, fashionable, fair trade bracelet right here. It’s only $22. This is a super easy way to make a difference, y’all! You should buy one.

giveaway bracelet

It’s a beautifully handcrafted, fairly traded, paper bead bracelet (This one is made in Kenya by a woman named Cecilah). I love it and was tempted to keep it myself. But didn’t have to because Antoine was so generous to send me this bracelet, which I LOVE as well.

review vavavida

It’s also beautifully handcrafted and fairly traded. Made in India, it has this beautiful teal (which is my all time favorite color) fabric stretched on a brass cuff behind the design. As you can see, it really pops! And also looks fab with my Noonday Collection pieces. 🙂 This bracelet is only $25 and if you spend $50 on Vavavida’s site, you get free shipping. So, the math here looks like this: you buy this teal bracelet and the Healing Hearts bracelet and a bar of their handmade soap and you get free shipping and help provide for education – something African children were willing to DIE for.

And now for a little more education for you, my dear friends. Arm parties are Über fashionable right now. Don’t you go wearing ONE piddly little bracelet! Pile ’em on! If you’re going to have an arm party – do it up right! Here’s my personal guideline:

-Pick pieces that play well off of each other. They don’t have to be the same color or the same metal, but should be complimentary. (your definition of that may be different from mine.)

-Pick one bigger piece to showcase and then accentuate with smaller, less detailed pieces. The taller you are, the longer the arm and the more you can wear. Just don’t go too crazy! (Unless you are. And then by all means WORK IT, GIRL! Wear that “crazy” on your arm! Just be prepared for stares, but you’re probably already used to that.)

-You really cannot go wrong here. IT’S CALLED A PARTY for a reason!! Have fun with it and enjoy. Tag me on Instagram at fairtradefashionistas so I can see what you do with it! Here’s some of my favorite combos from friends. Most of this is Noonday. One friend here even INVITES HER MEDIC BRACELET to the party!

arm party

So here’s a chance for you to WIN THE HEALING HEARTS BRACELET and get a great start to YOUR VERY OWN ARM PARTY! Just go here to enter: http://bit.ly/ZRunL4 It’s mobile friendly!

Thanks for sticking with me!

In Style and Love,

Brandi {and friends}

2 thoughts on “Day of the African Child. Throwing an arm party. A review. And a giveaway…

  1. Brandi!! I am so excited about this post. This is awesome. Great post. We were so happy to work with you on this.

    I love how you layered the teal cuff Brandi!

    Go Fair Trade!

Leave a Reply

