A cord of 3 strands is not easily broken: review of 3 cords Haiti

Oh my goodness, y’all! It’s been a wild and crazy summer filled with travel. I have  been so blessed to go to Haiti last month and literally just got back from Guatemala – like 48 hours “just.” Bear with me here… I traveled 3,000 miles and two time zones by plane (x2), a couple hundred miles by van (which included a 5 hour blockade with multiple bathroom trips in corn fields along the road), and I have no idea how many nautical miles by boat as we crisscrossed Lake Atitlan three times – all in 6 days. My body and brain are  like “whoa? where are we in space and time??” But again, I am SO BLESSED by these trips and will try to share a few things from them here over the next few posts.

FIrst up, let me tell you about Haiti. It’s been a month since I was there for a week. I went with my husband and Adventures in Missions. I blogged about it here when we first got back. There is so much to process when you fly an hour and a half off the coast of Miami yet feel like surely, surely, there was a time/travel tunnel worthy of science fiction glory when you land. It was like being transported to Africa (only in the Caribbean and without the long flight).

Haiti is truly beautiful. When you look around you, you cannot deny the glory of the mountains, the lush landscape (in places), the unique blue-green of the Caribbean sea… but when you take a closer look, you see the pain of the people and the level of poverty is the hardest thing to deal with. It’s kind of like that quote in “Clueless” when Cher is talking about beauty and says a girl is a “full on Monet” meaning “It’s like a painting. From far away, it’s beautiful, but up close, it’s a big old mess…” (<– I mean this in the best possible way. I love Haiti and the people, but there are so many things that are wrong there. And you are made painfully aware of those problems when you spend any time there.) The Haitian people are scraping by ONE HOUR AND A HALF FLIGHT FROM MIAMI. I feel like that doesn’t do justice to HOW CLOSE THEY ARE AS NEIGHBORS. It’s 681 miles. And yet the nation of Haiti is the poorest in the Western Hemisphere. I’m not sure how something like that happens? I’ve read up on Haitian history, talked to natives, and really prayed. And? I’m still not sure. All I know is that I want to do something about it!! It seems audacious to hope that we can facilitate change when you see the magnitude of the problem first hand. But I believe we can!

There is a special group of people in Haiti who are doing what they can and it’s starting out with headbands and bags. I dare you to watch this video and show restraint in their online store. (just don’t. SHOP AWAY! Buy them out!)

3 cords is a social enterprise founded in September 2010 to train, employ, and empower, Haitian women and their families. Their mission is to provide opportunities to women with physical disabilities, and to shoe them that they are both beautiful and valuable. They do this by training the women as artisans in a loving community-oriented environment.

The name 3 Cords comes from Ecclesiastes 4:9-12:

Two are better than one… If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.  But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up… Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.  A cord of 3 strands is not easily broken.

This verse represents the group because of their strong belief in the power of community.  An added bonus is that the name “3 Cords” goes along with their main product line – a braided cord headband!

I bought a few headbands for my daughter and myself recently. They are super cute and tie at the base of your head so they’re totally adjustable! Here’s my little princess in hers. I got the pink kid’s cords for her. (She looks way cuter in hers than I do in mine.)

Image

And I got the chevron bando  (even though they’re not terribly becoming on me – I have a big head), and a teal cord. The gold cord that’s braided into this one is not my favorite. It makes my head itch because it has little pieces that stick out like Christmas garland. I’ll probably order another one that’s straight fabric. (Forgive the low budge looking pics here that are a little out of focus. I did mention my jet lagged-ness. But I had no idea my wrinkles were this bad…)

Image

All the cords come with cute tags and the name of the artisan that created it. This is my favorite part! I love looking back on the site to see the person that physically made my headband. They all sound precious.

What are you waiting for? Go check 3 cords out! Their products are great and ship super quickly! I received my order within a couple days of placing it. They also have really cute bags and other accessories for great prices. 

And yes, it seems crazy to think that by purchasing headbands or bags we can change the nation of Haiti. But you know what’s crazier? Thinking we can’t! 

Image

In Style and Love.

xo,

Brandi

Leave a Reply

