Thrift Style Thursday-Eve: Twice the style

Hey hey – I seem to only be good at posting about thrifting now. Rest assured that I have been working on fair trade and/or gifts that give back THE WHOLE YEAR! I’m about to start blowing up your feed with ideas! 🙂  I have another great Noonday sister and fair trade fashionista, Grace, posting today to share along the lines of of thrifting. You’ll love her! She’s sassy and secure, edgy and informative. Her primary highlight of the day is an online consignment type shop called Twice. They have some GREAT pieces! They don’t rival traditional thrifting in price or anything but selection, quality, and the likelihood that you’ll love (and wear!) what you buy is VERY high.

______________________________________________________

I have a passion for fashion. I think it began as a child when my favorite toy was Barbie…or rather, her extensive wardrobe. 🙂 I spent years of my life styling Barbie and lamented when I was told I was too old to still be playing with dolls in middle school. But around that same time I discovered something even better than styling Barbie: styling myself.

My parents weren’t rich but they would buy me new clothes for back-to-school, my birthday, Christmas, and Easter. And I am blessed with a big sister who would let me raid her closet. However, my hunger for interesting outfits never seemed to be satiated by my wardrobe…especially when my store-bought clothes looked like what everyone else was wearing. The solution: thrift shopping! I discovered the thrill of finding unique clothing pieces at Goodwill during my awkward middle school years. My go-to pieces were vintage graphic t-shirts, plaid button-up shirts, and anything with loud prints.

Image

(I may have purchased a pair of bright yellow polyester pants too.)

I gained a lot of inner strength during those years of going against the fashion norms of my peers. I may have been teased for my loud outfits, but I may have started a few trends too.

Flash-forward about 15 years and I’m thrift-shopping again. This summer I fell in love with thrift-shopping afresh thanks to a few fellow Noonday Collection ambassadors. They first informed me about how cheap clothes are often made in sweat-shops by suffering workers. (Insert guilt over my multitudes of cheap Old Navy clothes.) Then they shared how thrift-shopping was one affordable solution to the clothing slave labor conundrum because you don’t contribute to the dirty supply-chain when you buy second hand. That’s great news because buying fair-trade everything is super expensive!

It gets better: Goodwill is not your only option for thrifting! You can actually thrift-shop online now!!! My #1 favorite online thrift shop that I recommend to everyone is Twice. Here’s my invite code: liketwice.com/3jodR  Twice does all the dirty work of thrift shopping for you. You know what I’m talking about: the wading through a sea of ugly clothes in search of the one gorgeous piece of clothing (that also fits you perfectly!). The beauty of Twice is that they only accept high-end used clothing. They sort it, photograph it, and provide details on what it’s made out of and most importantly the exact measurements. In a few months I have purchased 6 things from Twice and LOVED each one of them. You have 30 days to return for a full-refund, but I’ve never had to do that.

Here are the clothes I purchased from Twice:

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.24.37 PM

And here are some outfits I have recently worn featuring these pieces:

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.45.42 PM

Follow me on Instagram @noondaygrace to see my fashion favorites and how I style my Noonday Collection.

____________________________________________________

Thanks so much for reading!! I hope you’re inspired more than ever to try thrifting! Happy Thanksgiving to all my faithful friends and fashionistas! Stay tuned for lots of gift ideas coming your way!

XOXO

In Style and love,

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 5.18.21 PM

Leave a Reply

