Run for Another: Janji

I have a confession to make: I’m not what you’d typically refer to as a “fashionista.”  All of these pics you’ve seen on the blog of me so far?  Totally outside of how I normally look!  On any given day, you’ll find me like this: in running clothes.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

(my friends are all nodding in agreement right now)

This. Is. Me.

There’s almost nothing more I love than going for a nice long trail run with a friend or two.  No running watch or Garmin device, no training plan.  Just plain old running, Forrest Gump style.

So when we made the move from Florida to Maryland earlier this year, I knew I needed to find some new, warmer running clothes STAT.  No way am I giving up outdoor running once the temps start dropping!

But of course, you know me: any clothing purchase needs to have a purpose behind it…

So I was so thrilled to find Janji!

JANJI MEANS “PROMISE” IN MALAY: Our promise is to use the power of running to fight the global water crisis.

It was love at first sight for me with this running apparel company: I quickly decided to order a new pair of tights and a long sleeve shirt!

The tights are so super comfy and warm… like seriously warm!!  They feel kind of fleecy on the inside.  Zippers at the bottom for easy on and off.  Elastic waistband on top for flexible fit (check their size charts before you order). Zippered pocket in the back for your car key.  Perfect.

photo 1

Also?  The purchase of these tights provides water for 3 YEARS to one person in Tanzania!!  Amazing.  You can learn more about the water projects they support here.

photo 2 My long sleeve top is made of a soft, moisture-wicking blend.  I love the water logo and red stitching at the bottom.  It’s the little things!Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetMy shirt is providing 1 week of clean water to a person in the United States through the DIGDEEP organization.  I love how you can choose your clothing based on a particular country that you want to support…

Do you feel drawn to Haiti, Rwanda, Peru, Kenya?  They’ve got a shirt and pair of shorts just for you!

While Janji is not “fair trade,” they are most definitely a socially-conscious company that aims to make a difference in the world.  They pay attention to the important things, like manufacturing practices and fair wages for their workers (which goes to show that a “made in China” tag is not always a bad thing):

Janji manufactures over 95% of our clothing at a small, family-owned sportswear factory in Guangdong Province, China which has been owned and operated by two brothers since 2009.  The strong partnership between Janji and our factory is rooted in our shared values concerning the importance of fair working conditions and high quality apparel construction.

I can totally vouch for the quality of my new gear and it’s safe to say that I’ll be purchasing more from Janji in the future to add to my running wardrobe!  I have my eye on the running jacket and their cute new headbands!

Happy trails, running fashionistas!

In style & love,

signature

2 thoughts on “Run for Another: Janji

Leave a Reply

